All about WCAG 2.2 for educational publishers

All about WCAG 2.2 for educational publishers

Update your digital content with new accessibility criteria. What has changed from the previous WCAG 2.1 version? What do educational publishers need to pay attention to?

In early 2023, a new version of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) will be published. This latest set of recommendations provides additional Success Criteria, the implementation of which still concentrates on improving accessibility for users with special educational needs. 

We’ve researched and gathered all the crucial information about WCAG 2.2 that every educational publisher should know. You can find them in the new WCAG 2.2 Guide for Educational Publishers, which is now available for free download. 

Based on the already published document, the new WCAG 2.2 seems to be more of an evolution in educational accessibility than a revolution. It’s good news for publishers who already adhere to the requirements of WCAG 2.1 because they will have it easier to comply with new guidelines. The authors kept the same structure of the document, maintaining the A/AA/AAA format as well, including previous Success Criteria. As a result, WCAG 2.1 contains 78 success criteria, while WCAG 2.2 has 87 of them.

We believe that the new success criteria are worth fully implementing in all digital educational materials, especially AA conformance level, which is achievable by every educational publisher. See step by step what actions are needed and what tools are helpful to meet all-new criteria. Moreover, by downloading a free guide, you will learn:

  • What is WCAG 2.2, and when will it be published?
  • What hasn’t changed in WCAG 2.2?
  • WCAG 2.1 vs. WCAG 2.2: What’s new for educational publishers?
  • How to implement the new criteria in digital materials?
  • How to approach digital accessibility – an ongoing process of improvements?
  • Useful WCAG materials for educational publishers
  • Examples of highly accessible educational eContent